New Forest Daytrips - September/October

16 posts / 0 new
Last post
Anonymous (not verified)
New Forest Daytrips - September/October

Over the past few weeks I've popped back and forth to the New Forest in Hampshire several times. With a great deal of help from Tony Davis I've managed to see quite a few of the special plants on offer and have seen a few nice inverts too.

I'm not an expert, but if anyone cares to spend a Friday/Saturday being dragged by the nose from plant to plant then please do get in touch via this thread and I'll see what I can do, but bear in mind that the flowering season will be over fairly soon. Ideally I'd like to fill a carload or two, the more folks the merrier, but one on one is perfectly fine too. I won't be around for October 10th/11th.

Plants I can hopefully show you include (at Kimbridge) Sharp-leaved Fleullen, False Virginia-creeper, Balm, Wilson's Honeysuckle, Hybrid Woundwort, Huntingdon Elm, Small Teasel, Orange Balsam plus the fishes Grayling, Brown Trout, Chub and Perch.

In the New Forest proper I can hopefully lead you to goodies such as Hampshire Purslane, Coral Necklace, Dwarf Spike-rush, Nuttall's Waterweed, Shoreweed, Hybrid Water Lily Nymphaea marliacea, Pillwort, Black Bog Rush, Oblong-leaved and Round-leaved Sundews, Carnation Sedge, Bog-myrtle, Bog Pondweed, White-beaked Sedge, Allseed, Duck Potato, Brookweed, Bog Pimpernel, Lesser water Plantain, Yellow Azalea, Stinking Tutsan, Lesser Bladderwort, New Forest Bladderwort, Pennyroyal, Wild Chamomile, Marsh St John's-wort, birdsown Cotoneaster divaricatus and an outside chance of Yellow Centaury and Chaffweed. I can't guarantee everything, but a fair selection should be achievable if we start early and finish late. Several sites will need to be visited to skore all of these plants.